



Addendum: Time (off with pay) to Vote!

In our most recent e2r Alert we outlined the polling station times for Atlantic and Central Canada (8:30 am to 8:30 pm). For the sake of completeness, below is a chart with all the polling station times across the country. If you have any questions please let us know.

Voting Hours on Election Day

Polls are open for 12 hours across the country on election day. The voting hours are staggered so that the majority of results are available at approximately the same time on election night.

Voting hours at polling places for each time zone across Canada:

Newfoundland – 8:30 a.m. - 8:30 p.m. Atlantic – 8:30 a.m. - 8:30 p.m. Eastern – 9:30 a.m. - 9:30 p.m. Central – 8:30 a.m. - 8:30 p.m. Mountain (and Saskatchewan in the 2015 election)* – 7:30 a.m. – 7:30 p.m. Pacific – 7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.

*In Saskatchewan, when daylight saving time is in effect for the rest of the country, voting hours are from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

An electoral district might span more than one time zone. In that case, the returning officer determines the voting hours for the district (with the approval of the Chief Electoral Officer).

By-elections

The voting hours listed above also apply to by-elections, except when byelections held on the same day are taking place in the same time zone. In that case, voting hours are from 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m.

70 The Esplanade, Suite 401, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1R2 % 416-867-3093 📥 416-867-1434 📽 1-866-327-7657

e2rsolutions.com